BMW 335i

When it comes to freakin’ awesome cars, I base my judgments on style, performance, and versatility. The BMW 335i scores in all three categories, and I’m not just saying that because I own one. The car is one quick beauty. BMW claims used to claim around a 5.3 second 0-60, but recently have trimmed it down to a breathtaking 4.9 seconds after car magazines such as Road and Track have tracked it at 4.8. Personally I haven’t shaved some nanoseconds off their claim, but I’m pretty excited to have 300 bhp under my hood. Now it used to be that BMW 3-series coupes were for yuppies flashing their newly earned money, but the 2007 335i heralds in a new image. With track times that rival the acclaimed E46 M3, and even beating it at times, the new 335i driver is a grim road-warrior determined to trounce every car on the road with steely determination and cool in his eyes. At least, that’s what I see every time I look in the rearview mirror.

Now, it’s not my balls that give me the confidence or arrogance to challenge all cars, though I do have a steely grim set. With an engine that packs a twin turbocharged and intercooled straight 6 delivering 300 lb-ft of torque at 5800 rpm, this beast will give any pussy balls of steel. The 335i completes the quarter mile at an amazing 13.6 seconds at 105 mph. Too bad the manufacturers have put a chip limiting the top speed to 144 mph. This car handles like a dream. With BMW Active Steering, I can basically telepathically control my vehicle. Only the slightest of movements is needed to drive the car. However, BMW has stated that it does not recommend Active Steering and runflat tires on the 335i, saying that it will not bring out the car’s full potential. I have both, but I still manage to burn it up.

Styling wise, the 335i is one of Chris Bangle’s last creations. You don’t get to see much of his eccentric style in this car, since BMW must have asked him to tone it down to protect the sales of their bread and butter. The coupe had graceful curves with the doors slanting slightly upward. The dimensions are perfect, but I admit I had been hoping for a more aggressive looking car. However, that is a hurdle for the M3 to cover. The back seat only seats two, and be prepared to listen to your backseat passengers moan and bitch for the duration of the ride. The ride quality is good, stiffer of course if you have Sports Package like me, but I find it pretty comfortable.

This car is a perfect everyday driver, and is also a fun weekend car. However, the gas mileage leaves something to be desired. BMW claims a 20 mpg city and 30 mpg highway, but my car records it at 18 mpg city, and 25 mpg highway. Whatever you decide to use the car for, I guarantee you are going to be one happy driver in one freakin’ awesome car.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Cars

2 Comments on “BMW 335i”


  1. It is only your last paragraph that gives me some reason to be happy that I was an early-adopter with the E90 330i.

    While it has lots of power and I love the handling of the car, I did feel a little ripped off when they announced the 335i with 45 more HP for very little incremental cost!

    So the saving grace of the 330i is the fuel economy… I have seen as high as 30 highway and a pretty respectable 20 city…

    Nice post. A.

  2. Matthias Says:

    The top speed (with the limiter removed) is 206.3 miles/hour. Drag limited, it’s around 170-180. Not that you would ever want to go that fast. If you really want it off, I think the computer geeks at Vishnu Performance can flash your ECU, which limits the speed.

    My main gripe with the newer BMW’s is that there isn’t a traditional dipstick. So, the only way to measure the oil is to drain it all out and measure it. Otherwise, it’s a very tourquey car, and your poor gas mileage is probably because of all you horsepower driven antics (hee hee).


Leave a Reply

