Halo 3: BELIEVE….in multiplayer.

Well by now I’m sure most of you who’ve wanted to play Halo 3 have bought it and probably have beaten the campaign, so I’m not going to bother with spoilers, so read the first paragraph about the single player at your own discretion.

The lighting in the game is incredible.

I got it the day it came out and quickly ran through it before I crossed the pond. I have to say, after all the hype and the years of playing and/or waiting, the SINGLE PLAYER CAMPAIGN was a dissapointment. Yes it had some pretty cool epic moments with the new piano theme song playing in the background and a bunch of marines battling with you, but overall it felt just like more of the same. Every level was fairly linear, and it just pushes you through one group of enemies after another with some vehicle encounters sprinkled in between. I felt that two things should’ve been implemented. First of all, there should be more urban battles. I throughoughly enjoyed the one urban level, where it actually felt like you were helping Earth survive its last stand. Secondly, I wish there was at least a little variety and openness in choosing where you can go and what you can attack. Every level felt very linear as I was directed from one encounter to the next. The story could’ve also centered more on Earth, as I was dissapointed in Bungie repeating their formula of transporting you to another Halo-world half way through the campaign. The new guns, equipment items and vehicles however are pretty interesting. I don’t think any guns were added that were as important as the battle rifle of Halo 2, but they are different and refreshing in their different uses. The two new brute weapons do well in helping the brutes flesh out their side of the armory in both look and utility. I love speeding around in the new Mongoose, and the Hornet flying section was fun, but I don’t think they’ll change the multiplayer scene much. I personally have not begun to master any of the new items, but I can already tell from the few games I played online that they will change the whole landscape of the multiplayer scheme.

You can play up to 4 people co-op over Live.

Which leads me to talk about the section of the game that really makes Halo 3 the console-seller that it is. The multiplayer for Halo 3 is fantastic. With the inclusion of the Forge and Theatre, which allows ANYONE to make their own customizable maps, items, and gametypes and share their most awesome experiences in Halo on Xbox Live, Bungie has in my eyes perfected the console FPS multiplayer experience for this generation.

The hammer and new armors are awesome. (So is the Theater, where all of these pictures are from.)

I haven’t played more than a few hours worth of the multiplayer due to my internet being messed up, but I have been keeping track of it and have already seen the great results of the Forget and Theatre. Already there have been some interesting player-created multiplayer maps on the internet and freakin’ awesome videos of kills that everyone wished they could’ve recorded in Halo 2. I also like the new appearance models that can be unlocked. Even if everyone chooses to use a few models, it’s still a lot better than just seeing the same elites and master chiefs running around. It would take pages and pages to go over every aspect of the multiplayer, but trust me in that every part of Halo 2’s multiplayer has been improved. Bungie has even started with date-based downloadable events like a zombie-based gametype just for Halloween. Also, I’ve heard them promise updated versions of older maps from previous games. If you don’t know anything about Halo, you really don’t need to bother with either of the older ones, as Halo 3’s multilayer could potentially last you a lifetime with a sufficient playerbase and gives you a “greatest hits” version of the last two in addition to all new content.

I would say that Halo 3 has definetly lived up to its hype. The single player could have been a little better, but the reason one buys the game anyways is for the multiplayer. It will definitely go down as one of the best FPS games for any platform for this generation. I really hope more games in general can copy Halo’s Theater mode. I know a lot of PC games can let you take screenshots and make maps, but I would like to see more console games follow suit. Finally, if you would get any game for your 360, this is the game to get.

Halo 3 deserves a 5 out of5 stars. (add me on Xbox Live: Dumhartoir)

Explore posts in the same categories: Video Games

One Comment on “Halo 3: BELIEVE….in multiplayer.”

  1. Desmond Says:

    Yea, the campaign pretty much sucked. Co-op helps take the edge off, though.

    The multiplayer is pretty perfect – I agree. The theater is a streamlined BF2 Battlecorder, which is totally awesome.


Leave a Reply

